OLNEY, 7TH MARCH 2015

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After over two months without a free Saturday, finally on 7th March I had a whole Saturday to do what I wanted.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy original plans were to visit the Cotswolds with my son, but a minor accident the previous day with his roller-skate made it impossible, so on Saturday I set off to Onley alone. At first I was just intending to look for an Oxfam bookshop to by myself a present, and later then do a little exploring.

The Oxfam bookshop was a small and very well organized place, with not a lot of books, but easy to see and choose. The books were perfectly divided into classic, fiction, crime, travel, etc. They sell also music and some new items such as cards or chocolate.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There were two very friendly volunteers, and the prices of the books were more than acceptable for secondhand books in good condition. As usual I had to stop myself from buying too many books and decided to choose the two more interesting titles.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAfter that I walked around the Market Place and went to The Cowper and Newton Museum. This is an interesting place where you can see XVIII century furniture, clothes, and gardens. The gardens were the best for me. The house has a couple of gardens: One is a Georgian walled flower garden, and the other a Victorian Kitchen garden. Both looked similar to me, with their benches in strategic places to enjoy the sun while reading or just thinking.

The visit to the house was as interesting as the visit to the gardens. Every object was well documented and original. I particularly enjoyed the clothes with the small details and the laces. The entry only cost 5 pounds and it is a season ticket. It is really good value. They have a small very cheap tearoom, with some tables and chairs outside looking on the Georgian garden. Unfortunately I had to return home and I didn´t have time to relax with a cup of tea .OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After that I walked along the High street and discovered a place that was well cared for with nice houses and small shops each with their own character.

My final visit was to the Parish church St. Peter and St. Paul on my way back to the car. The first thing that I could see was the high Gothic tower. In the churchyard of the church, there were the graves of John Newton and his wife Mary. This like others graveyard that I’ve so far found in the UK, gave me a feeling of peace and tranquility , and it was a pleasure to visit.

This is a town that is well worth a visit, where you can enjoy a pleasant walk and have lunch or tea in one of its charming tearooms or restaurants.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 thoughts on “OLNEY, 7TH MARCH 2015

Leave a Reply

