POST – HUMANS SERIES Books 1-4 by David Simpson

ImageProxyI was acquainted with these four books thanks to one of those offers on the Internet that is only available for free for a couple of days. Even though I really enjoy Sci-fi, books do the not always come up to my expectations so Post-Human series books were a great and positive surprise.

The series starts with Sub-Human. A war against the development of an intelligent A.I. has plunged the world into a war. The U.S.’s Purists are against the Chinese pro-A.I.

Time travelling to the past is the center of the story. Those moments of the past that have marked a difference in human history.

In the second book, Post-Human, we accompany Craig to a newly developed and intelligent humankind and the possibility to terraform other planets. The A.I. has finally allowed humankind to develop its intelligence and give it some kind of immortality.

In the third book, Trans-Human, the dreaded threat of an alien attack is real, but not so alien. As in our history, every situation is cyclic, and the mistakes of our past return even with a more developed intelligence.

The last book, Human-Plus, is a video game or at least this is what we are led to believe for a while.

The video game is about a lab where humans test the possibility to believe and trust their future in the hands of an advanced A.I.

Mankind is complicated. The best among us like the pursuit of knowledge, the desire to advance and to make our lives easier, sometimes become the worst as well.

In Sci-fi literature and films, authors denounce these fears showing us the good side of the advancement as well as the probably bad side of it.

It is like we are afraid of ourselves and at the same time incapable of stopping this hunger for discovering and advancement.

An advanced A.I. is one of these fears. The possibility of machines more intelligent than us, developing a consciousness which is superior to humans.

Nevertheless, our real fear exists because we know already what mankind is able to do, and we don´t want to know what “something” (Advanced A.I.) could do in a likely future.

David Simpson has written a series where every Sci-fi lover would be at home. Time-travelling, develops of the I.Q and immortality are the main points. However, at the same time he presents some inconveniences of these visions and some dangers.

To decide which future we want is a matter of vision and to be more or less reckless.

David Simpson is a Canadian author, known for his popular seriesimages Post-Human (series), which he independently published through‘s Kindle Direct Publishing system. He also has one horror/urban fantasy novel, independently published through Kindle Direct Publishing, The God Killers

David Simpson lives in West Vancouver, Canada. He holds a Master’s degree in English literature from the University of British Columbia.


Post-Human Series

  1. Sub-Human (August 15, 2012)
  2. Post-Human (November 23, 2011)
  3. Trans-Human (November 23, 2011)
  4. Human Plus (March 10, 2013)
  5. Inhuman (April 27, 2014)

Collected editions

  • Post-Human Series (Books 1-4)(November 30, 2013)

Horror Novel

  • The God Killers (November 23, 2011)