STONE MATTRESS by Margaret Atwood


Nine tales all related with death. But, don’t think about the sadness or the loneliness that sometimes accompany the death. These deaths are different. The death can mean more company when the person is not leaving us. Sometimes the death is the only way to close an old wound, to execute revenge, or maybe the last hope for others.


An alternative world in which you can hide or take a rest. It is the refuge of the main character, and where she is hiding old ghosts.

“But how can you have a sense of wonder if you’re prepared for everything?”


Waiting for the inescapable. He found a different world, and starts again.

Dark Lady.

“,…experiences were what you got when you couldn’t get what you wanted,…”

Lusus Naturae.

When no one is prepared for what you are.

“Now that I was dead, I was freer.”

The Freeze-Dried Groom.

The end of this tale was a little scary.

“Nobody knows where he is.”

I Dream of Zenia with the Bright Red Teeth.

A spirit helping out?

The Dead Hand Loves You.

Never is late, not even for mistakes.

“But how much time does he have left in his life to worry about mistakes?”

Stone Mattress.

“When it came to love, wasn’t believing the same as the real thing?”

Torching the Dusties.

“If youth only knew, if age only could.”


download (1)Margaret Atwood was born in 1939 in Ottawa, and grew up in northern Ontario and Quebec, and in Toronto. She received her undergraduate degree from Victoria College at the University of Toronto and her master’s degree from Radcliffe College.

Margaret Atwood is the author of more than forty volumes of poetry, children’s literature, fiction, and non-fiction, but is best known for her novels, which include The Edible Woman (1969), The Handmaid’s Tale (1985), The Robber Bride (1994), Alias Grace (1996), and The Blind Assassin, which won the prestigious Booker Prize in 2000. Her latest work is a book of short stories called Stone Mattress: Nine Tales (2014). Her newest novel, MaddAddam (2013),is the final volume in a three-book series that began with the Man-Booker prize-nominated Oryx and Crake (2003) and continued with The Year of the Flood (2009). The Tent (mini-fictions) and Moral Disorder (short fiction) both appeared in 2006. Her most recent volume of poetry, The Door, was published in 2007. In Other Worlds: SF and the Human Imagination, a collection of non-fiction essays appeared in 2011. Her non-fiction book, Payback: Debt and the Shadow Side of Wealth was adapted for the screen in 2012. Ms. Atwood’s work has been published in more than forty languages, including Farsi, Japanese, Turkish, Finnish, Korean, Icelandic and Estonian.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s