CHANGING MY MIND, Occasional essays by Zadie Smith

imagesMy second book by this author, and fortunately, this time, a success for me (I don’t want to speak about the first one.) The book is divided into five parts: reading, being, seeing, feeling and remembering.

The author makes a profound analysis of books, films, other writers, family memories, experiences, etc.

Besides being a writer Zadie Smith is, of course, a reader and her reflections make me think about some things that I never read before such as:

“White readers often believe they are colour-blind.” And maybe she is right, but I still think that I am a colour-blind reader, usually are the personality of the characters of the book that make me feel more or less close to them. I am never “reading them” with colours or races, and even when I have not read a lot of black writers, I have read a lot of different continents with different colours and races, and never thought of them as something else, I read them as described by the author. But, just in case, I will be more aware to my next read of a not-white author.

“Nowadays I know the true reason I read is to feel less alone, to make a connection with a consciousness other than my own.”  I would add other few reasons for me reading, but this one is quite good for me.

“Other peoples’s words are the bridge you use to cross from where you were to wherever you’re going.”

I don’t a reader of poetry, but I liked the thinks that Smith found in Wallace’s poems:

“… as his attention to that singular point in our lives when we realize we are closer to our end than our beginning.”

“… the inexorability of time made all human effort faintly ludicrous.”

“It is unimaginably hard to do this, to stay conscious and alive in the adult world day in and day out.”

Zadie Smith was born in London, England, on October 25, 1975. At age 21, Smdownloadith submitted some 80 pages of what would become White Teeth to an agent, and the book was published in a few years later to rave reviews, winning numerous awards, including the Whitbread First Novel Award, and was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. Her third novel, On Beauty, was a finalist for the Man Booker Prize and won the 2006 Orange Prize for fiction.

 

Leave a Reply

