I doubted a lot before doing this review. Usually, I like reviewing only books that I can recommend without any doubt. Maybe not perfect ones themselves, but interesting enough in some senses to deserve a review. This book made me think a lot before deciding, but I believe that after all can be good reading for a lot of different readers.

Twelve short stories which develop in Ireland, Italy, and other places. The truth is that is a book about failed, unhappy or lost in memories relationships. All the stories are well written. The characters are well presented, and their stories as well. I don’t have any doubt about the author knowledge of human nature, but not even one of the stories has an optimistic or happy ending. It is a continuous fight to survive, to save the relationship or the contact with the family or with friends. Everyone feels lonely and deserted.

The conclusion is that this book needs to be faced completely prepared to read about real life and its delusions without any sweetener.

This are the titles included in this book:

The News from Ireland

On the Zattere

Lunch in Winter

The property of Colette Nervi

Running Away

Cocktails at Doney’s

Bodily Secrets


Her Mother’s Daughter


Two more Gallants

The Wedding in the Garden

Novelist and short-story writdownloader William Trevor was born in Mitchelstown, County Cork, in the Republic of Ireland on 22 May 1928.

He was educated at St Columba’s College, County Dublin, and Trinity College, Dublin. He worked briefly as a teacher, and later as a copywriter in an advertising agency before he began to work full-time as a writer in 1965. He was also a sculptor and exhibited frequently in Dublin and London. His first novel, A Standard of Behaviour, was published in 1958.His fiction, set mainly in Ireland and England, ranges from black comedies characterised by eccentrics and sexual deviants to stories exploring Irish history and politics, and he articulates the tensions between Irish Protestant landowners and Catholic tenants in what critics have termed the ‘big house’ novel. He is the acclaimed author of several collections of short stories, and has adapted a number of his own stories for the stage, television and radio. These collections include The Day We Got Drunk on Cake and Other Stories (1967), The Ballroom of Romance and Other Stories (1972),Angels at the Ritz and Other Stories (1975) and Beyond the Pale (1981). His early novels include The Old Boys (1964), winner of the Hawthornden Prize, and Mrs Eckdorf in O’Neill’s Hotel (1969). The Children of Dynmouth (1976) and Fools of Fortune (1983) both won the Whitbread Novel Award, and Felicia’s Journey(1994), the story of a young Irish girl who becomes the victim of a sexual sociopath, won both the Whitbread Book of the Year and the Sunday Express Book of the Year awards. The Hill Bachelors (2000), a collection of short stories, won both the PEN/Macmillan Silver Pen Award for Short Stories and the Irish Times Irish Literature Prize for Fiction in 2001. The Story of Lucy Gault (2002), was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize for Fiction. William Trevor’s latest short story collections are: A Bit On the Side (2004), on the theme of adultery; The Dressmaker’s Child (2005); and Cheating at Canasta (2007). His most recent novel isLove and Summer (2009). Also in 2009, his Collected Stories was published.

William Trevor was awarded an honorary CBE in 1977 for his services to literature, and was made a Companion of Literature in 1994. He was knighted in 2002. He is also a member of the Irish Academy of Letters and was awarded the David Cohen British Literature Prize by the Arts Council of England in 1999 in recognition of his work. He lives in Devon, and was awarded the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award in Irish Literature in 2008.


UPROOTED by Naomi Novik


Agnieszka is the next maiden that will live with the “bad” Wizard who protects the AREA. She will never leave the tower for the next ten years.

She wasn’t supposed to be the one. Her friend, the most beautiful, intelligent and skilled of all the maidens born the year of the dragon, was for sure the one. But, the day of the ceremony, the Dragon arrived, and Agnieszka was the chosen one.

Until here the story is pretty the same as usually. A maiden forced to pay the price for the security of her family and friends, living with bad men into a tower. But the story is not about this.

The author took some of the most usual topics of the fantasy stories and had made something completely different.

The main characters, Agnieszka is not beautiful, she is a small disaster with her personal appearance, and usually makes everything wrong. The Dragon (Wizard), is the best Wizard of the Kingdom, but is not handsome, is not tall, is more than one hundred-years-old.
The evil comes from a different place and can manipulate and make a hell of everyone lives.

The heroine and hero will be fighting together, and sometimes far away from each other, because both of them are strong, and they know their real duty.

The heroin doesn’t need to be rescued, and who doesn’t faint (Thank God! Finally a healthy woman), and the hero is not the one who knows better.

It is a refreshing story, and different from others fantasy stories. I will remember this one, for a long, long time.

Naomi Novik was born in New York in 1973, a first-generation American, anddownload raised on
Polish fairy tales, Baba Yaga, and Tolkien. She studied English Literature at Brown University and did graduate work in Computer Science at Columbia University before leaving to participate in the design and development of the computer game Neverwinter Nights: Shadows of Undrentide.

Her first novel, His Majesty’s Dragon, was published in 2006 along with Throne of Jade and Black Powder War, and has been translated into 23 languages. She has won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, the Compton Crook Award for Best First Novel, and the Locus Award for Best First Novel. The fourth volume of theTemeraire series, Empire of Ivory, published in September 2007, was a New York Times bestseller, and was followed by bestsellers Victory of Eagles and Tongues of Serpents.

On April 26, 2011, she published Will Supervillains Be on the Final?, volume one in a new graphic novel series titled Liberty Vocational. She is also currently writing League of Dragons, the final Temeraire novel.

She is one of the founding board members of the Organization for Transformative Works, a nonprofit dedicated to protecting the fair-use rights of fan creators, and is herself a fanfic writer and fan vidder.

Naomi lives in New York City with her husband and eight computers. (They multiply.)